To Assure Academic and Personal Success For Each Child
Teacher of the Year Graphic

MCS Names Teachers of the Year

Murfreesboro City Schools is proud to announce the 2018 Teachers of the Year. Teachers from each school were nominated for the prestigious education award given by the Tennessee Department of Education.

24 teachers were chosen for the honor based on their commitment to teaching excellence both in and outside of the classroom. From those 24 teachers, two educators were selected as System-level honorees and will represent MCS at the regional level.

The Tennessee Teacher of the Year program is designed to promote recognition, respect and appreciation for teachers, to stimulate interest in teaching as a career, and to encourage public involvement in education.

The 2017-2018 MCS System-level Teacher of the Year recipients are:

· Jamara DeBerry, Bradley
· Angela Pope, Erma Siegel

Building Level Honorees for this year are:

Black Fox Elementary: Rhonda Melson, Kimberly Nelson

Bradley Elementary: Jamara DeBerry, Stephanie Turner

Cason Lane Academy: Michelle Follis, Nicolette Sanders

Discovery School at Bellwood: Bess Turner, Tiara Vance

Erma Siegel Elementary: Angela Pope, Patric Thomas

Hobgood Elementary: Amy Brooks, Judi Hinds

John Pittard Elementary: Sasha Burnette, Rebekah Take

Mitchell-Neilson Schools: Sydney Dewberry, Sayward Ratliff

Northfield Elementary: Janice Pharis, Karen Godwin

Overall Creek Elementary: Jessica Burns, Mallory Eaton

Reeves-Rogers Elementary: Alisha Byrd, Shiloh Siegel

Scales Elementary: John Harding, Liz Rueby